2009 XLT Project Planning

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

thunderthot

Reaction score
Hi all! I’ve recently come to own an ‘09 with a handful of issues, but it was priced right and most problems seemed to be close to my knowledge and skill level. I’m very new to the Expy platform and 5.4’s in general, and have done some research on common issues but realize there are a ton of nuances and knowledge I might not be picking up through individual research and the search function, so I wanted to post a thread to get advice on things to consider, things to improve quality of life or easy replacements while I work on specific issues. I’d like to order as many parts and tools up front as I can so I can change as much at one time as possible. I’m familiar with working on vehicles and have a small tool setup, but just to be thorough assume that I know nothing and have nothing to work on them with. I’m aiming to turn this into an Overlanding rig that is still functional as a daily driver, but have to get it running reliably first.
It’s at 240k miles, and is in decent condition aside from the following: Its main issues are:
•Misfire and rough idle that varies in intensity. The misfire is enough to wobble the vehicle when cruising at light throttle but reduces under load. Only active code is P0365-00, ignition coil F primary control circuit open. I plan to change all plugs and ignition coils. Due to the year I assume it’s brown boot.

•Metal on metal braking, all brake warning lights, TPMS, and Traction Control lights on dash. I plan to start with pads and rotors and go from there.
•Power steering non functioning. There’s no leaks or whining from the pump. The pulley to the pump still spins, but the belt is shredded because of a stuck AC pulley.