front differential/4wd/4a having issues.

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

mrhyne

Reaction score
hello, i just joined this site. I have a 17 with 277k highway miles on her. It's a 17 EL limited and i have had it since 2,215 miles.

Recently i have started hearing a constant roaring noise coming from the front that seems to be on the driver side. I just replaced the driver side wheel hub to confirm that is not the issue. i have been running the vehicle in 4a and 4h a little over the last few days just to see if i hear variance in the noises. I am convinced the noise is coming from the front diff.
Today, the 4wd sounded like it was free spinning and the roaring was louder and sounded like the 4wd was working but not engaging the half shafts. then it went back to normal after trying three or four times. im pretty new to 4wd stuff. I am trying to diagnose to see what i need to do next! any help is appreciated!

99WhiteC5Coupe

Full Access Members
Reaction score
hello, i just joined this site. I have a 17 with 277k highway miles on her. It's a 17 EL limited and i have had it since 2,215 miles.

Recently i have started hearing a constant roaring noise coming from the front that seems to be on the driver side. I just replaced the driver side wheel hub to confirm that is not the issue. i have been running the vehicle in 4a and 4h a little over the last few days just to see if i hear variance in the noises. I am convinced the noise is coming from the front diff.
Today, the 4wd sounded like it was free spinning and the roaring was louder and sounded like the 4wd was working but not engaging the half shafts. then it went back to normal after trying three or four times. im pretty new to 4wd stuff. I am trying to diagnose to see what i need to do next! any help is appreciated!