Documenting: 2014 5.4l 3 valve early oil pump and tensioners upgrade

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

k-bl

Reaction score
I am an engineer by trade, and I like to document and test things. I've always worked on all my cars and have generally done a good job at it. I've found a lot of incomplete stories about upgrades of our beloved 5.4l regarding oil pump and tensioners which caused me to spend a lot of time investigating for myself what I feel is right in my situation. I as well don't like to put off something that will save me much time and money later on. Here is the situation, and thinking behind it:

* I have a 2014 XL 5.4l 3 valve with 75k on it that runs perfectly, and I'd like to keep it that way.
* I don't want to wait till I have a worn out engine to start thinking about what types of upgrades I'd like to do to keep a worn out engine still running.
* Many of the worn out 5.4l's arrive that way because of a single detrimental design flaw... the tensioners (there are more design flaws, but this is the biggest from my viewpoint, feel free to rant if you like). Once the ridiculously & idiotic designed gasket on the tensioners wears out, it causes a series failures that start seemingly very mild (oil starvation), and end up being catastrophic to the overall design (cam bearings ground up, stretched timing chains, chunks of plastic from tensioner guides, clogged oil pump, timing cover ground away till there are holes in it, seized pistons, thrown rods, and overall engine failure).
* Why put off repairing mine? I might as well upgrade the oil pump as well.

So I decided I want to keep my engine from wearing out to begin with. I did a lot of research, and I've seen a lot of videos. Some pointed my to use all original parts, others with cheap knock-offs. What I decided to do: