a few newbie questions on expedition

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

opie

Reaction score
First of all, i would like to commend the staff and members of this site...outstanding information and i'm glad i found you all!

Now...i recently purchased a '00 xlt sport 5.4L w/ 74,500 miles. I am 1k miles from my first oil change and i am going to change all fluids in my truck when i do the oil change (i'm a truck driver, and a bit **** on servicing my rides) I have a couple questions that i could not find answers to when i searched this forum....

1) 5W20 is the recommended engine oil. It is my belief that 5W20 is recommended due to fuel economy and may not be as good as 5W30 at preventing wear on internal lubricated parts. Personally, i would rather have a well lubricated, working engine than save the minimal fuel mileage that 5W20 would offer....your thoughts?

2) I have determined thru information on this site that i have the 4R100 transmission. And from further information thru google i have figured out that i have a torque converter drain. I am going to do a complete service on the transmission, and the specs call for mercon transmission fluid (Dexron III/Mercon). My local parts store wants me to put Mercon V in it claiming that "It is the most updated, technologically sound transmission fluid and can be used in any transmission that calls for any type of Mercon .